Lefty Guitar Trader Supporting Vendors:

XLG

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First acoustic recommendations?

Thanks

Default First acoustic recommendations?

Hi all, I am new to the forums after lurking for while. I am 48yo and have been playing Uke for a couple of years. I'm finding it more and more difficult to find online training for Uke. So I've decided to save up for a guitar as there is much more training available.

I am interested a something in the $600-800 range, a bit beyond the most basic entry level
    stuff. With the lack of lefty guitars available the search has been difficult.

My current first choice is the new Taylor Academy 12e Grand Concert. That pinched waist, smaller body fits me well. Plus I studied classical guitar as a child, playing righty which I really struggled with and eventually just quit.

It's at least a 6 month wait to order the Taylor and I'm probably 3-4 months away from ordering. So I'd like to consider some other options, but as a complete newbie it's hard to know what plays easy, sounds good, etc. I don't care about bling. I'm focused on playability and nice tone. When I have received recommendations on specific models I'm finding 95% are not even made in left hand.

So I thought it might be better to seek advice from other lefties. What do you all find available new/used in the GC body size and this quality range with ease of playability?
    Last edited by uke4Jerry; 07-10-2017 at 08:50 AM. Reason: Typos

Thanks

Hey dude...welcome! Its a little sparse around here, but there's some cool dudes on here that'll steer you in the right direction.

I'm partial to Larrivee. You can sometimes pick up a used lefty in the $800 range. Outstanding build quality. For a smaller body They've got a Parlor series, with a smaller body.

Here's a couple links:

https://reverb.com/item/5691227-larr...p-satin-finish

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lefty-Larriv...MAAOSwurZZGhL0